You Will Have Days Like This

Yesterday was just one of those days that if you couldn’t laugh about it, you were totally going to cry about it. Fortunately, I had slept fairly well the previous night, so my sense of humor was relatively in tact. Otherwise I could’ve had the kind of momma meltdown that so many of my mommy-friends had warned me about.

Yesterday was my first real day on my own with baby. The hubster is in the field, completing his last training exercise before graduation (yay!), my maman left on Sunday morning, and my sister, Auntie Kate, left later that afternoon. So, I got up around 8ish, fed the wee one (again), and actually squeezed in a shower all before noon. I felt like Super Mom.

Baby was waking up and in serious need of some liquid satisfaction, so he was starting to fuss. I had just started sterilizing some bottles, nipples, funnels, flanges, and other feeding accoutrement. It only takes about 5 minutes, so I picked up the wee one and started walking around with him in my arms in hopes that I could stave off a milk meltdown for the five minutes I need to finish sterilizing the stuff.

However, with 3 minutes left on the timer, there was what I’m going to call an “incident,” for lack of a better term. I will spare you the details, but I’ll just say that never in my life would I have ever thought something like this would happen to me. It was a very real reminder that even at 2 weeks post birth, not everything is back to its normal self.

To give you an idea of just how big of an emergency situation this was, at one point I found myself standing in my kitchen, naked from the waist down in front of my two 8-foot glass doors to my backyard. My kid was lying on the bare, probably dirty tile floor, screaming his head off. (I didn’t have enough time to grab the bouncer seat.) The dog was doing his best to dig through the trash in hopes of eating yet another maxipad. And the damn stove timer was bleeping as the pot I was sterilizing everything in was bubbling over onto my stove top.

It was utter chaos.

And to think just minutes before I was feeling confident that I had things under control.

I get everything cleaned up, picked up, and turned off and sort of have a little giggle to myself about how funny, if not totally embarrassing, the whole situation was.

With the chaos tamed back into submission, I start my day again. Next on the agenda was making the dog’s food. My pup got seriously sick not too long ago and the vet has recommended a very plain diet of white rice, veggies, and ground meat for the time being. So, about twice a week, I have to cook up a huge vat of rice and brown some meat to take care of his meals.

Despite the setback caused by the incident, I’m still feeling confident that I can tackle this task. So, I throw a pot of rice on the stove and set it to a boil. I take care of a little bit of laundry in the basement before returning to the stove and turning the flame down to low for the rice to simmer.

At this point, I think it’s probably a good idea to get on the computer, check a little e-mail and maybe write a quick blog. Then the baby is hungry again, so I take him upstairs to feed him. At some point, I make it back to the computer as the dog walker pops in to take the pup for some exercise. (Incidentally, the dog walker is a godsend–so worth the expense when you’re by yourself with a newborn and don’t know what you’re doing.)

For some reason, as I’m talking to him, I start to smell burnt toast. And I realize that I’ve been smelling it for awhile. It was my rice. I had totally forgotten about it–for like 3 or 4 hours.

Do you have any idea what rice looks like when it’s cooked that long? Check this out:

Cooking with Newbie Mommies

Yum. I managed to scrape out some of the stuff that was just slightly brown and crispy from the center for the dog.

I’m not sure if my pot is going to ever recover. At this point, the bottom of it is completely black. If anyone’s got any remedies for eradicating burnt on food from pots, please share. I’m wont to throw it out, as this is one of my more expensive pots. If this is bound to be a regular occurrence, I’m going to have to invest in some cheapo pots.

At any rate, hope all you mommies-to-be enjoyed the preview into what life is like with a newborn. Happy mothering!

5 Comments

Filed under cooking, moms, newbie parents, newborns

5 responses to “You Will Have Days Like This

  1. Sandi M.

    I’ve had pretty good luck by liberally sprinkling baking soda in the pan, with a few cups of water. Let it simmer on the stove for about 20 minutes or so. While it’s simmering, I use something to loosen the stuck on stuff. Then take it off the stove and let it cool. When it’s cool, the stuff should just scrape off. If that doesn’t work, try repeating the process. Good Luck!!

  2. It may be easier to get a rice cooker. Being hispanic and married to an asian, I eat rice almost daily. The rice cooker is easy to set-up and it has auto-off, so I never have to tend to it.

    As a mom I have found, at least in the kitchen, it’s best to invest in products that can manage themselves with little supervision from me. That’s why the rice cooker and slow cooker are my best friends.

    Kudos on the dog walker…..I’m certain it’s a godsend!!

  3. Two words: rice cooker. Virtually impossible to burn rice with it 🙂

    • Now, if I’d married an Asian or a Hispanic rather than an Irish-Pole, I wouldn’t be having my rice issues, would I? 🙂 I just hate having all these “machines” in my kitchen that take up valuable counter or cabinet space.

Leave a Reply

