Hip Hope Hooray!

A few days ago I was taking stock of my post-pregnancy body, wondering when I was going to feel and look like the real me. Every day I seem to be getting closer to what I once was, although I was noticing that my mommy hips didn’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon. (You can read the full post here.)

The remedy I was looking for didn’t seem to be a postpartum wrap or even a girdle. I needed something that would somehow coax my hips back into their pre-pregnancy position rather than just hold in the flabby front section.

I thought my search was going to be long and perhaps even fruitless. But as I was cruising the aisles at Target a day or so ago, I came across what appeared to be my perfect solution. Check it out:

Official Hipster Uniform

These bad boys are sort of like spandex workout shorts with an extra elastic band at the waist. According to the tag, this Hanes brand “sculpting band thigh slimmer” garment (in “firm shaping” strength) offers the following:

  • wide band provides tummy control & rear definition
  • firm control for maximum shaping
  • sleek silhouette that sculpts & contours all over

Again, the focus seems to be on taming an incorrigible midsection, but I think this garment’s biggest selling point is that the super-strength elastic band is wide enough so it comes down over your hips. So, it keeps the mid-drift pulled in while applying some elastic pressure to the hips–it’s a veritable two-in-one. Almost as versatile as a reversible jacket. (Just kidding.)

I’m sure other people wouldn’t mind wearing them under their clothes during the day, but I am a little uncomfortable with all those layers, so I’m only wriggling into these things under the cover of night. My new “pajamas” aren’t exactly sexy, but they pair nicely with the oversized, ratty t-shirt that I’ve been wearing. (Can you tell my husband’s not home?)

It’s too early to tell if they’re working as I so want them to, but I’m on the case. Stay tuned to find out if these magical mystery pants give my hips hope that they’ll return to their natural state.

Leave a comment

Filed under birthing, mommy care, moms, post-partum, post-pregnancy, shopping

Leave a Reply

