My Love-Hate Relationship with Swim Diapers

It’s full-on summer these days and when the temps start climbing, there’s really nothing more adorable than a baby in a pool or at the beach. While I have always been the type happy to sit waterside for hours on end with nothing more entertaining than a beer, babies certainly do not have my tolerance for nothingness when the sun is shining. So, I’ve been trying to figure out how to get the most out of whatever pool or beach time I can get with a one year old.

I thought swim diapers might turn into a hot-weather essential, but after a handful of uses I’m becoming more skeptical. Here are the pros and cons, as I see it:

Pro: Swim diapers don’t suck up unbelievable amounts of water after every dip,  end up weighing a gazillion pounds, and drip it out all over you when you pick up your kid.

Con: Because they are not absorbent, despite their name, they are not intended to be used actually as diapers. I learned this after I thought I was being smart, got my kid into his swim gear, popped him in the car seat, and headed to the lake. When I pulled him out of the seat a short time later, not only was he literally dripping wet, but his car seat was soaked. I still feel like my car smells.

Pro: They aren’t ridiculously expensive. That’s always a plus in my book.

Con: Not a fan of the S-M-L sizing, particularly since it seems to run a bit small. I’d imagine that a one-year-old would be a medium, but they seem tight.

Pro: The pull-up style of the swim diapers helps them stay on better when soaking wet. When regular diapers get really wet, the adhesive straps can unstick due to the weight of the diaper.

Con: The pull-up diaper is a nightmare when we’re talking No. 2. My kid has the uncanny knack of always taking a dump about 5 minutes after the swim diaper goes on. (What is with that, seriously?) So, after I get him all dressed, I have to undress, and then redress him. The on and off of clothes is trying to begin with at this stage because baby is too big to lie there but still too small be very sure on his feet. Tear away sides or not, I am usually trying to shimmy a full diaper down my squirming baby’s legs. It’s a mess. Literally and figuratively.

 

7 Comments

Filed under babies, baby gear, diapers, swimming

7 responses to “My Love-Hate Relationship with Swim Diapers

  1. Paige

    I’m a big fan of, Pampers Splashers! I started out with Lil Swimmers and they didn’t seem to work out as well for Miss A. Plus, the Pampers Splashers come in actual diaper sizes which I like. We were at the beach for over 3 hrs on Sunday and she was in one splasher the whole time with no issues. Not to mention she spends lots of time in her pool. I definitely would not use them as diapers to wear from point A to point B, but the Splashers work great for what we need them for. Sure, there’s been a blowout or two but hey, that comes with the territory 🙂

  2. Jenny

    It’s funny that you just posted this because I also just recently had a swim diaper carseat fiasco on the way to the beach. Makes me wonder what public pools have lurking in them. Yuck.

  3. I can’t even think about that. But I’m so glad to know that I’m not using them wrong; they just suck. 🙂

  4. Abby Valas

    I love this post, Sarah. I learned the “swim diapers don’t hold pee” lesson the hard way( or shall I say the messy way:) ) I took Reese to a pool party wearing a cute summer sundress and Reese in her little bikini. I had her in my lap and all of a sudden, I felt the warm rush!! Ugh! Needless to say, I didn’t get many hugs hello at that party and although it dried, I was STILL covered in pee. 🙂 I love all of your posts!! You always say what every other mom is thinking!

Leave a Reply

