Taking (Chicken) Stock of My Life

I love to cook. But I haven’t done a lot of it lately because I find cooking for one to be pretty depressing. (One more reason that my kid’s non-eating habits are all the more frustrating.) Most of the time my meals are eaten standing up at the kitchen counter as I’m wiping it down and only about half the time do they actually require utensils.

But last weekend, something got into me and I roasted a whole, 3.5-pound chicken. I even went through the trouble of stuffing it with a homemade cornbread and green onion mixture and roasting it with a wonderful veggie medley consisting of leeks, turnips, carrots, parsnips, and brussel sprouts. It’s been four days and despite my dog and my picking constantly at the bird, there’s still a carcass in my fridge, so I think it’s pretty much confirmed that my roast was indeed a completely ridiculous endeavor for one.

But roasting that chicken so got me in the Thanksgiving mood. In particular, I kept thinking about a Facebook post from one of my friends. Her daughter had made one of those hand-print turkeys that every kid makes at some point (or 10) in their lives. And there was a list of numbers from 1 to 30, where every day in November my friend was going to record something that her daughter was thankful for. No. 1 on the list was that her daughter was thankful for the turkey she made. (Hilarious.)

I have a tendency to often see more of the negative than positive in life, so I started to think that maybe I should keep a list of all the things I’m thankful for this month. So, my first week of November looked something like this:

Of course, I am thankful every day for my son. That’s a no brainer. He is truly more of a gift than I ever imagined he would be. But my challenge is to be a little more open to the other good that exists in my daily life. So, I’m giving myself a couple freebies the first week just to get me going.

But it’s funny how positive thoughts beget positive thoughts. No. 3 on my list, for example, was a pleasant surprise. But the scope of the job and the time frame to complete it left me feeling a lot like I wished I had more time to put together a better package. But fortunately No. 5 happened to me and I got some more information and felt much better. A couple days later and I got another run at putting my skills to work (No. 7 on the list), which was the perfect way to cap off the week.

Maybe there really is something to that power of positive thinking. That might be something to be thankful for.

2 Comments

Filed under daily life

2 responses to “Taking (Chicken) Stock of My Life

  1. When all you think of is “la vie en rose”, you’ll notice that color pop up everywhere in your life. Your brain gets used to seeing good things, so keep it up! We are lucky indeed to be moms.

Leave a Reply

