The New Adventures of the Old Me

When ringing in the new year, it’s only natural to think about the new people we could become. But the problem I have is that I can’t just think about one thing I would change for the better in the year ahead; with every new year I feel like I need an extreme life makeover.

And this is why I can’t just pick one simple resolution. I have to choose multiple resolutions. Usually because I start out with one good idea and then it leads to another and then I’ve got something that looks like a weekend honey-do list rather than a simple resolution.

But the good thing about having so many is that you don’t feel quite as big of a loser when you fail to keep your resolutions or just sort of half-ass them. Because you’ve set such big expectations that even in falling short across the board, you’ve at least moved the needle on your life in a good direction.

While 2011 certainly had its challenges, one of the good things I took away from it was that I had a lot of time for self development. I wrote a lot (although nearly not enough in my book); I tried a bible study group; I volunteered for a leadership position; I raised a lot of money for a great charity (and ran 10 miles as part of the process); and I reevaluated my career path (the one good thing about getting laid off). So, in a way, it a productive if not ideal year.

While I had a ton on my plate, and sometimes it totally was too much, I felt better about me when I was that busy. And a lot of the things that I accomplished forced me to slow down and be a little more reflective than I might have been otherwise. So, my challenge in 2012 is to figure out how to sustain some of that momentum so that I end up a less frazzled, more content person. Here’s my roadmap to learning not to sweat the small stuff:

  1. Be more patient (with husband and dog, husband especially)
  2. Unleash my inner entrepreneur!
  3. Drink more water (glub, glub)
  4. Read more for fun (and some above a grade 3 reading level)
  5. Thank god every day

Yes, I realize that these five resolutions are all over the map. But the way this grab bag of resolutions makes sense is that each one speaks to a different facet of my life and the whole package is a better me. There’s one resolution that deals with family, another with my professional aspirations, a third that addresses health, another focused on leisure, and the last one is about spiritual enhancement. To me, those five things seem like the main ingredients in the recipe for a more fulfilling life. So, here’s to making all this happen in the year ahead. Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under daily life

2 responses to “The New Adventures of the Old Me

  1. Stephen Yaussi

    Good plan Honey. Good Luck. When you get to be my age, Your main resolution is to stay healthy. So after a hiatus in my excersize regime since retiring, I’m back at it.

    Love Dad

    • Thanks, Dad. And I think you’ve got a good goal. Although, I don’t think you’re as off the wagon as you feel. Kayaking and snow shoeing/crosscountry skiing are considered exercise in some cultures.

Leave a Reply

